The National Academy has close links with a large number of institutions in Sri Lanka and abroad, that pursue the same objectives of promoting the development of science and technology and their application to development. The following is a list of some of the more important of these with, wherever available, the links through which they could be contacted.

A. Scientific Institutions in Sri Lanka

1. Sri Lanka Association for the Advancement of Science

120/10 Vidya Mawatha,

Colombo 07,


Tele (94-01)691681; 688740

Fax (94-01)691681



2. National Science Foundation
47/5, Maitland Place, Colombo 07. Sri Lanka.
 Tel: 94 + 11 + 2696771-3 
Fax: Chairman - 94 + 11 + 2691691 / Director - 94 + 11 + 2694754 
E-mail :


3. National Science & Technology Commission
No.2, Galpotta Road, Nawala, Rajagiriya, Sri Lanka.
Tel: +94-011- 2889050 Tel: +94-011- 2861204 Fax : +94-011-2878735


4. Ministry of Science and Technology
Science & Technology Unit No. 320, T B Jayah Mawatha Colombo 10
Tel: 94-11-2698289-90,2682498 Fax: 94-11-2693752 E-mail:

Hon. Minister's Office :561/3, Elvitigala Mawatha Colombo 05
Tel: 94-11-2554848 Fax: 94-11-2554845
5. Institute of Chemistry Sri Lanka

Vidya Mandiraya

120/10,Wijerama Mawatha

Colombo 7

(Phone: 011-2691298)

(Fax: 011-2691298)




Links to Other Sites in Sri Lanka:

Note: Institutions without websites are contactable through their e-mail addresses.

B. International Academies of Science


Links by Courtesy of the Inter Academy Panel

Academies by Country


Albania Albanian Academy of Sciences


Argentina National Academy of Exact, Physical and Natural Sciences


Armenia The National Academy of Sciences of Armenia


Australia Australian Academy of Science


Austria Austrian Academy of Sciences


Bangladesh Bangladesh Academy of Sciences


Belarus National Academy of Sciences of Belarus (NASB)


Belgium The Royal Academies for Science and the Arts of Belgium (RASAB)


Bolivia Academia Nacional de Ciencias de Bolivia


Bosnia-Herzegovina Academy of Sciences and Arts of Bosnia and Herzegovina (ANUBiH)


Brazil Brazilian Academy of Sciences


Bulgaria Bulgarian Academy of Sciences


Cameroon Cameroon Academy of Sciences


Canada The Royal Society of Canada


Chile Academia Chilena de Ciencias


China Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS)


China, Taiwan Academia Sinica


Colombia Colombian Academy of Exact, Physical and Natural Sciences


Croatia Croatian Academy of Arts and Sciences


Cuba Cuban Academy of Sciences


Czech Rep. Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic (ASCR)


Denmark Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters


Dominican Republic Academia de Ciencias de la República Dominicana


Egypt Academy of Scientific Research and Technology (ASRT)


Estonia Estonian Academy of Sciences


Finland The Delegation of the Finnish Academies of Science and Letters


France Académie des Sciences


Georgia Georgian Academy of Sciences (GAS)


Germany Union of German Academies of Sciences and Humanities


Ghana Ghana Academy of Arts and Sciences (GAAS)


Greece Academy of Athens


Guatemala Academia de Ciencias Medicas, Fisicas yNaturales de Guatemala


Hungary Hungarian Academy of Sciences


India Indian National Science Academy (INSA)


Indonesia Indonesian Academy of Sciences


Iran, Isl. Rep. Academy of Sciences of the Islamic Republic of Iran


Ireland Royal Irish Academy (Acadamh Ríoga na héireann)


Israel Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities


Italy Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei


Italy Pontificia Academia Scientiarvm


Japan Science Council of Japan (SCJ)


Jordan Royal Scientific Society of Jordan (RSS)


Kazakhstan National Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Kazakhstan


Kenya Kenya National Academy of Sciences (KNAS)


Korea, Republic of The National Academy of Sciences


Kyrgyzstan National Academy of Sciences of the Kyrgyz Republic


Latvia Latvian Academy of Sciences (LAS)


Lithuania Lithuanian Academy of Sciences


Macedonia Macedonian Academy of Sciences and Arts


Madagascar Académie Nationale Malgache


Malaysia Academy of Sciences Malaysia


Mexico Mexican Academy of Sciences


Moldova Academy of Sciences of Moldova


Mongolia Mongolian Academy of Sciences (MAS)


Morocco Academy of the Kingdom of Morocco


Nepal Royal Nepal Academy of Science and Technology (RONAST)


New Zealand Academy Council of the Royal Society of New Zealand


Nigeria Nigerian Academy of Sciences


Norway The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters


Pakistan Pakistan Academy of Sciences (PAS)


Palestine Palestine Academy for Science and Technology (PALAST)


Peru Academia Nacional de Ciencias del Peru


Philippines National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST)


Poland Polish Academy of Sciences


Portugal Academia das Ciencias de Lisboa


Romania Romanian Academy


Russian Fed. Russian Academy of Sciences


Senegal Academie des Sciences et Techniques du Sénégal


Singapore Singapore National Academy of Sciences (SNAS)


Slovak Republic Slovak Academy of Sciences


Slovenia Slovenian Academy of Sciences and Arts (SASA)


South Africa Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf)


Spain Royal Academy of Exact, Physical and Natural Sciences of Spain


Sri Lanka National Academy of Sciences of Sri Lanka


Sweden Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (RSAS)


Switzerland Council of the Swiss Scientific Academies (CASS)


Tajikistan Academy of Sciences, Republic of Tajikistan


Thailand Thai Academy of Science and Technology (TAST)


The Netherlands The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences


Turkey Turkish Academy of Sciences


Uganda The Uganda National Academy of Sciences (UNAS)


Ukraine National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine


United Kingdom The Royal Society


USA US National Academy of Sciences (NAS)


Uzbekistan Uzbekistan Academy of Sciences (UzAS)


Venezuela Academia de Ciencias Físicas, Matemáticas y Naturales de Venezuela


Global African Academy of Sciences (AAS)


Global Latin American Academy of Sciences – ACAL


Global The Caribbean Academy of Sciences (CAS)


Global Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS)


Observers All European Academies (ALLEA)


Observers Association of Academies of Sciences in Asia (AASA)


Observers European Academies’ Science Advisory Council (EASAC)


Observers Federation of Asian Scientific Academies and Societies (FASAS)


Observers InterAcademy Council (IAC)


Observers International Council for Science (ICSU)


Observers La Communidad Cientifica del Caribe


Observers Network of African Science Academies (NASAC)